top of page

'24 Songs' Compilation Album Released

Updated: Feb 16

Clue Records of Leeds, England, released an album compiling The Wedding Present’s twelve '24 Songs' singles – together with extra tracks – on 19 May 2023.

David Gedge re-curated full-length versions of all twenty-four tracks for a spectacular album that also comprises five bonus recordings, including one featuring the band’s first guitarist, Peter Solowka.

He says: “I decided not to sequence the tracks in chronological order. With six sides of vinyl, you have six ‘beginnings’ and six ‘ends’ to play with, and I felt that the opportunity to build some kind of a musical journey was too good to miss! Listening back to this collection, I have to say that I genuinely believe that, for this project, The Wedding Present have recorded some of our best tracks yet. I loved releasing the singles, but it’s satisfying to have them all rounded up together.”

The '24 Songs' album was released in four versions, three of which are available to purchase from this web site:

Deluxe Triple LP (on solid grey vinyl with 2 CDs and a DVD) – order here.

Deluxe Double CD ‘Bookpack’ (includes lyrics and sleeve-notes by David Gedge and a DVD) – order here.

Standard Double CD – order here.

The Super-Deluxe Limited-Edition Triple LP (on transparent mint-green vinyl with 2 CDs and a DVD) has now sold out.

The DVD included in some formats features The Wedding Present playing live during the ‘24 Songs Launch’ event at The Old Market, Hove, in January 2022, plus a fascinating ‘fly-on-the-wall’ documentary filmed as the songs were being written, arranged and recorded.

The track listing for all formats is:

'24 Songs' Tracks: I Am Not Going To Fall In Love With You / Memento Mori / That Would Only Happen In A Movie / We Interrupt Our Programme / We Should Be Together / Strike! / Science Fiction / Summer / Each Time You Open Your Eyes / We All Came From The Sea / Monochrome / Kerplunk! / Don’t Give Up Without A Fight / X Marks The Spot / You’re Just A Habit That I’m Trying To Break / Plot Twist / Whodunnit / A Song From Under The Floorboards / Telemark / Astronomic / Go Go Go / Once Bitten / La La La / The Loneliest Time Of Year

Bonus Tracks: White Riot / Panama / Jump In, The Water’s Fine (Japanese Edit) / We All Came From The Sea (Utah Saints Remix) / Teper My Hovorymo (Featuring Peter Solowka)


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page